Finding a Church Home

 

John 3-16

So Will (my husband) and I have been taking “Connecting Point” classes at the church he grew up in. Connecting Point is basically learning about the core beliefs of the church and its history, and it leads up to applying for membership within the church. It is a Bible church and very different from my previous experiences.

My parents are both Catholic and my brothers and I were all confirmed when I was going into high school. As an adult I really don’t remember most of what we learned when we went through the classes that prepared us for confirmation. I’m sad to say that at the time I was a teenager and much more interested in the social opportunities presented by going to church and church activities than in a strong relationship with God.

As I’ve grown older and had different experiences, it has become more important to me to have that relationship. Now I am 30, married, and in the next couple of years Will and I will most likely have our own little family. I hope that we will be able to lead our children by example to also want a strong relationship with God. I’ve been working on my own relationship by going to Bible study classes with Will’s mom, going to Connecting Point with Will, and by talking to God in my own way as I always have.

In September 2015, after a lot of soul-searching and prayer, and with the support of my husband, I accepted Jesus as my Savior.

It was a small, quiet moment. We were both getting ready for bed and I asked him if he would pray with me. We held hands and I professed my faith out loud. We hugged for a long time after and talked. Now I feel like I am finally getting to have the personal relationship with God that I’ve wanted and felt like I’d been missing.

It is scary to write about here because I’m normally very private about my personal beliefs but this is something I really want to share and talk to people about. I want to tell everyone about how wonderful it feels to take that step and trust in God, about how Jesus died for our sins and by Grace through faith we are saved.

Will and I are supposed to meet with other people who are applying for membership in our church and some of the church elders in November. We will get to ask any questions that we still have about membership and then will publicly give our testimonies to become official members. I’m a little nervous about talking in front of a bunch of strangers but after posting here (because this is about as public as it gets) I’m hoping that some of that nervousness will go away.

If you’d like to share your testimony in the comments, I’d love to hear it. =)

♥ Frances

 

Leave a Reply

