10 Steps to Amazing Banana Nut Bread

As a little girl I loved to watch my mom bake. I would watch her go to her wooden recipe box, rifle through hand-written index cards and clippings from magazines, and pull out the perfect one to make for our family.

Banana nut bread was one of the hand-written recipe cards passed from my Granma to my mom. It was my favorite; my three younger brothers loved it too. This recipe card has been used so many times that it has been rewritten on a fresh index card several times over the years. As I got older and started baking, banana nut bread was the only recipe I made often enough that I didn’t need to refer to the recipe card anymore. I make this for my husband now, and he loves it too.

I asked my mom if she would mind if I shared the recipe on my blog and she told me that good recipes should be shared. So I hope you make this for your family and love it as much as mine has.

IngredientsBanana Bread Ingredients

  • 4 rotten bananas
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup walnuts

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. In a small bowl, mix the bananas with an electric mixer until liquid. Put aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter with sugar.
  4. Drop eggs into the large bowl and beat well.
  5. In the large bowl, add flour that has been sifted with baking soda and mix well.
  6. Stir the bananas into the large bowl.
  7. Stir in walnuts.
    1. You do not have to use walnuts, sometimes I use pecans instead. My sister-in-law prefers chocolate chips.
  8. Butter either 2 regular sized bread pans or 4 mini bread pans, and divide batter evenly.
  9. Bake for 45 minutes. This never seems enough – test with a cake tester, table knife, or tooth pick until it comes out clean.
  10. Let cool completely on racks and then invert the pans to get the bread out.

The bread should be stored in the refrigerator. I love eating it cold personally, but I have a friend at work who heats his slice up and eats it with a little butter on top.

I hope you enjoy my Granma’s banana nut bread as much as I still do. Let me know in the comments which option you go with in Step 7.

Be well!

Frances

One thought on “10 Steps to Amazing Banana Nut Bread

Leave a Reply

